Schedule

Created with Sketch.

This schedule is subject to change.

Monday, May 18

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Class overview
  • Syllabus review
  • Idea brainstorming and roundtable
  • General Q&A

Wednesday, May 20

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Professional Development: Navigating the industry as a young professional, Sabrina Rodriguez, Trade Reporter, Politico
  • Due: Short Critiques

Monday, May 25

  • Memorial Day: No class
  • Due: Idea

Wednesday, May 27

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Professional Development: Navigating the COVID-19 job market, Ted Kim, Director of Newsroom Fellowships and Internships, New York Times

Monday, June 1

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Producing web projects
  • Tips & Tools
  • Web design
  • Due: Reporting Memo

Wednesday, June 3

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Professional Development: Pitching stories and projects, Bill Duryea, Enterprise Editor, Politico

Monday, June 8

Wednesday, June 10

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Professional Development: Covering protests, Kelsey Proud, Managing Editor of Digital, WAMU

Monday, June 15

  • Virtual meeting in pairs, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Peer review of Draft 1
  • Due: Draft 1

Wednesday, June 17

  • Virtual meeting, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Professional Development: Topic TBA, Guest TBA

Monday, June 22

Wednesday, June 24

  • Virtual livestream of capstone work, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Join us on YouTube and via live chat (link coming)
  • Due: 12 p.m. ET, Final Project